is coming up, an award seat on the way home via Beijing, then connecting to ANA/NH via Tokyo.
Seat assignments are not available on all partner airlines on United websites, & I was trying to see if I could choose a seat before physical check-in by using the Air China code given me. Some translations for ‘Seat reservations’ (FAQ) are as follows:
“My name booking in uncommon words how it?
From the first to play out all of uncommon words beginning with the alphabet can be replaced.”

“Passengers holding Chinese passports Can I purchase one-way ticket to Bangkok, Kuala Lumpur, Jakarta, Singapore?
According to the provisions of the relevant departments of the Chinese citizens to enter the above-mentioned countries, must have set a date and short-term visas can not buy one-way tickets…”

http://www.airchina.com.cn/cn/contact_us/seats_booking_and_tickets_sales.shtml